Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Sandner

* 02.03.1949, † 05.12.2015

Former Director (1993-2013), Max-Born-Institut für Nichtlineare Optik und Kurzzeit-Spektroskopie im Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V.
Former Professor of Physics, Technische Universität Berlin


Professional Career

1979 PhD in atomic physics, University of Freiburg, Germany
1986 Professor (acting), University of Würzburg, Germany
1987 -1991 Professor, University of Freiburg, Germany
1991-1994 Full Professor of Physics (tenured), University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
1993 - 2013 Director, Max Born Institute for Non-linear Optics and Short-Pulse Spectroscopy, Berlin, Adlershof,
and Member of the Board, Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V.
1994 - 2014 Professor of Physics, Technische Universität Berlin
Since 10/ 2013

Senior Scientist, DESY Hamburg

Since 08/ 2013 Director General and CEO, ELI-DC International Association AISBL, Brussels (BE). Headquarters in Prague (CZ), Szeged (HU), and Magurele (RO)


Areas of research

More than 200 refereed publications in international journals, numerous invited talks at international conferences.

Organizer (Conference Chair) of major international scientific conferences in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2001

Fellow of the American Physical Society (1994)


Major activities in scientific organisations and honorary positions

Chair, Association of European-Level Research Infrastructure Facilities ERF-AISBL (since 2014)

President (2010 - 2012), and Vice-President (2012-2014), Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft DPG

Co-ordinator, Chair of the Participants Council and Chair of the Management Board,
EC Research Infrastructure Network "LASERLAB-EUROPE" (2002-2012)

Board Membership in scientific organisations:

Current membership in Scientific Advisory Boards (SAB):

Science Policy Consulting:

Participation in review and evaluation panels for national and international science organisations:

BMBF (Germany, 2004, 2007), National Research Council (Canada, 2004), Academy of Sciences (Czech Republic, 2004),
Max Planck Society (Germany, various), Fraunhofer Society (Germany, 2007), Science and Technology Facilities Council (UK, 2008),
Department of Energy (USA, 2008,2009), EU ERA-SPOT (European Union, 2008), PROFIT Technology Funding (Berlin, Germany, 2006, 2007),
Institute of Laser Energetics, Kyoto, Japan (2013)